#001 - A new beginning

My new newsletter on emerging tech & solopreneurship

Read Time ~ 3 mins

Hey šŸ‘‹

Over the last five years, there were 503 of you who were gracious enough to subscribe to my email newsletter and invite me into your inbox. For that, I am grateful.

I proceeded to never send out a single email šŸ˜‚

With Twitterā€™s recent announcement to shut down Revue (my previous newsletter provider) and 2023 around the corner, I thought this would be a good time for all of us to clean up our inboxes.

Before you hit that ā€œunsubscribeā€ button, letā€™s try this outā€¦

Things I want to focus on in 2023ā€¦

  • Marketing & writing skills

    • Consistent newsletter, blog, and Twitter updates

    • Learn more about SEO, notably Programmatic SEO

  • Gamification

    • I love the impact that gamification techniques have on human psychology

    • Iā€™ve been brainstorming a micro-saas idea related to this topic

  • Web 2.5

    • Much has been made of ā€œweb3ā€, but I think people greatly underestimate how much society depends on the trust that centralization provides

    • I plan to utilize a new library called MetaFab to share ideas I have on this

  • A.I. Writing & Artwork

    • If you follow me on Twitter, you may have noticed that Iā€™ve spent the NFT bear market playing around with this amazing new tech

    • Iā€™m currently building imgine.io as I experiment with A.I. art generation

  • Solopreneurship

    • It may have been obvious based on the tagline of this newsletter, but this minimalist approach to running businesses intrigues me

    • Iā€™m nearing the end of my most recent 5-year plan and think this topic is going to play an important role over my next five years.

Favorite Tweet of the weekā€¦

Now Streamingā€¦

While on vacation this week we managed to finish the latest season of Yellowstone, all ten episodes of 1883, and just started the first episode of 1923.

I love the approach that Taylor Sheridan and team are taking with these shows. With streaming providers constantly looking for new ways to put their intellectual property to work, I wouldnā€™t be surprised if we saw more of this over the next couple of years.

Random Facts: Taylor Sheridan graduated from Texas State University (40 minutes south of my house) and was inducted to the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2021.